ulap logo mobile

08 July 2018




     As the umbrella organization of all leagues of local government units and locally elected government officials, the Union of Local Authorities of the Philippines (ULAP), strongly condemns the recent spate of senseless killings of Mayor Antonio Halili of Tanauan City, Batangas and Mayor Ferdinand Bote of General Tinio, Nueva Ecija, Vice Mayor Alex Lubigan of Trece Martirez City, Cavite and Nassif Palawan Bansil, Municipal Councilor of Kapatagan, Lanao del Sur. ULAP sincerely commiserates with their bereaved families and constituents.

     ULAP is collectively alarmed over the fact that local chief executives and other local officials, leading the peace and order campaign in their locality, have themselves become victims of heinous crimes. Regardless of the criminal motives behind their assassination, the despicable act happening in broad daylight raises, not only moral indignation, but serious questions about the safety of persons in authority. Local Chief Executives, as well as the other public officials, in the performance of their duties particularly in the enforcement of laws, are exposed targets to all sorts of lawless elements who will not stop at anything to perpetuate their criminal intents. Have the guardians turned preys?

     Immediate justice must be served! It will be politically untenable if threats to the lives of our public servants will subsist and an environment of fear will prevail; but it is a mockery of justice if such despicable cases will not be adjudicated and real perpetrators put behind bars for good.

     Perhaps, only perhaps, the complex problem of illegal drugs trafficking is involved in this incessant murderous web of events. In this regard, we appeal to the PDEA, the PNP and other authorities concerned that all alleged narco-politicians be named publicly, arrested and charged formally in court only after the list has been subjected to further scrutiny and vetting by ULAP. This way, innocent, hard-working local officials and members of ULAP are spared from being unduly maligned as general suspects in a blind accusation.

     The ULAP National President is Albay Governor Al Francis Bichara and the Board is chaired by Ilocos Sur Governor Ryan Singson. The other ULAP officers are the following: Angeles City Mayor Edgardo Pamintuan (President, League of Cities of the Philippines) and Caloocan City Mayor Oscar Malapitan; Isabela Vice Governor Antonio Albano and Oriental Mindoro Vice Governor Humerlito Dolor (National President and Board Chairman respectively, League of Vice Governors of the Philippines), Javier, Leyte Mayor Leonardo Javier and Hadji Panglima Tahil, Sulu Mayor Abraham Burahan (Executive Vice President and Secretary General respectively, League of Municipalities of the Philippines), Nueva Ecija Board Member (BM) Atty. Edmund Abesamis and Laguna Board Member (BM) Lorenzo Zuñiga (President and Secretary General respectively, Liga ng mga Barangay sa Pilipinas), Cavite Board Member (BM) Ryan Enriquez and Ilocos Norte Board Member (BM) Ria Christina Fariñas (Chairman and President respectively, Provincial Board Members League of the Philippines), Magsaysay, Davao del Sur Vice Mayor Donnabel Joy Mejia and Cabanatuan City Vice Mayor Emmanuel Antonio Umali (President and Executive Vice President respectively, Vice Mayors League of the Philippines), Davao City Councilor Danilo Dayanghirang and Narvacan, Ilocos Sur Councilor Luis “Chavit” Singson (Chairman and President respectively, Philippine Councilors League), Masbate Vice Governor Atty. Jo Kristine Revil and Laguna Vice Governor Atty. Katherine Agapay (President and Executive Vice President respectively, Lady Local Legislators League), and Valenzuela City Councilor Marlon Paulo Alejandrino and Bulacan Board Member (BM) Atty. Enrique Dela Cruz, Jr. (President and Secretary General respectively, National Movement of Young Legislators).

----- o0o -----


(Usec.) Bernardino E. Sayo
ULAP Executive Director
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. / This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Mobile: (+639) 17 829 2803
Landline: (02) 534-6789 / (02) 717-1810

Download PDF File here.